What's new
What's new

Bridgeport Newbie

StudentMech27

Plastic
Hello all!

New member here to PM and also to Bridgeport mills as well. I am a student and I just accepted a job as a machine shop manager and machinist at a local company. Unfortunately some of the people here are not used to having someone machine parts for them and they "try" to do it themselves. This leads to my problem; I walk into the shop to mill some parts and when I turn on the motor it spins just fine but no rotation is transferred to the draw bar and the tool doesn't spin.

Like i said, I am a student and i have experience machining but I have little to none in fixing/working/troubleshooting these machines. Any sujestions you could throw my way would be awesome!!

No offense, but I think it will be not to your liking...

You are not qualified for the position. Instead of just doing a 8 hour day which will lead to a bad situation, on your own time you will have to read manuals and lookup information. Build a library from downloaded manuals and become the expert.

Otherwise hiring somebody who knows the stuff. Then you can learn from the "somebody". But I take away from your "Hello all" that the local company is small and will depend on you knowing the stuff. Get ready for it.

In the meantime you can ask questions here and probably get enough answers for the following day.

Your problem with the tool rotation:
1. Is the belt on the motor at correct tension?
2. Variable speed pulley or step pulley drive system?

I agree with Ron but in order to help you.

If you have never used a BP mill download a manual they are free & all over the net.

Perhaps your staff are yanking your chain & leaving the machine in neutral

http://https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=bridgeport+head&client=safari&hl=en-gb&prmd=ismvn&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiRgpuPn-zWAhWKJhoKHRqUDB8Q_AUIEigB&biw=1024&bih=672#imgrc=EFlU6qaXM7rQnM: