What's new
What's new

Fire and Water Damaged Bridgeport Milling Machine - Give Away

Brian Mifsud

Plastic
Almost a year ago, a fire took down my wooden workshop. I inherited Dad's Bridgeport mill as well as associated tooling and machinery. I'm a Mechanical Engineer, not a Machinist, but learned enough from Dad to not kill myself, and make the occasional part to support my traditional boat building, and automotive interests hobbies.

Fast forward to now, am removing the last of the debris, and the mill has been out in the rain since May last year. The fire hose did it in. Motor cover was completely melted (anything Aluminum in the shop melted or burned). The worktable has aluminum melted into the keyways. It is rusty, but looks reasonably straight. The knee still works somewhat. The cross feed does not (frozen with rust). The little door below the turret in the side of the casting melted.

I want to GIVE the mill to someone who will rebuild it and use it if it is feasible. The base castings are in decent shape, but everything must be unseized from rust, and rebuilt. I can lift the mill with the forklift attachment on my tractor onto your trailer. I'm in Northern California, in Sonoma County.

Thanks

Brian

Almost a year ago, a fire took down my wooden workshop. I inherited Dad's Bridgeport mill as well as associated tooling and machinery. I'm a Mechanical Engineer, not a Machinist, but learned enough from Dad to not kill myself, and make the occasional part to support my traditional boat building, and automotive interests hobbies.