What's new
What's new

Hardinge Cataract Quick Change lathe questions

aeoliankid

Plastic
Hello, All; I'm a newbie to this forum, and have some questions for all you Hardinge experts out there. I salvaged
a Hardinge Cataract Quick Change toolroom lathe, looks to be 9" X 28". I saved it from going to the dump; have cleaned it up, and am operating it now. 1) Its serial number is 7650, stamped both on the headstock and the tail end of the bed. Any idea of the date? 2) What is the proper setup for the metric bracket and gears? 3) Would anyone have drawings for the circular wooden collet rack that was mounted under the chip pan?

I found most of the tooling for this lathe, including the steady and follower rests, metric bracket and 127 tooth change gear, 18 other change gears, several chucks, and a faceplate. Included was the original Hardinge 2 speed overhead motor drive. There is also a block that fills a hole in the middle of the bed near the headstock --- it's some sort of bed extension for the tailstock or steady rest to ride on. Like a filler for a gap bed, but only for the center ways.

Any help would be appreciated, and I'd like to join the informal Hardinge Cataract Club! Cheerio, -- Henry

I do not have that model lathe, but there is a sort of club for those few that do have them. Probably you will be hearing from them. Restoring a Hardinge Cataract Lathe

As to date, I will guess around 1926.

The three riser blocks that change the swing on these lathes are generally missing. People have made replacement castings and collet racks and may have drawings to share.

There are some useful patent drawings. Hardinge Bros. - Assigned Patents | VintageMachinery.org

Have you seen this? http://www.lathes.co.uk/cataract/page5.html

Larry

CatQCSwingP10.jpgCatQCSwingP11.jpgCatQCSwingP17 a.jpgHardinge QC swing building 1.jpgMVC-001F.JPG