What's new
What's new

Hardinge HLV-H question

Johndifunk

Plastic
Hi guys. I'm new to this forum. Although I've read many conversation here. I've never posted anything.

I'm a total newbie. I just got lucky and found a 1971 HLV-H with DRO for a fair price. It's in pretty good shape with zero noticeable backlash on any of the feeds.

The lathe is very dirty. The feeds are all kinda yellow from layers and layers of coulant I assumed.

What it the best way to clean this up?

Also, The carriage get's pretty hard as I go toward the tailstock. Can anyone help me figure out why?

Someone told me it was because it was worn in the well used area but why would it become hard as I move toward the tailstock. Almost as if it was binding.

Thanks a lot. I'm sure i'll have a million questions. At time.

John

Correct, it is worn in the much used area and the gibs have been tightened for that area causing the less worn to be tight

John,
Your title sucks. I'm not going to lock, but please read the rules. Title must tell what thread is about. HLV-H Question! About what? Cleaning question would have been better.
JRA

John,
Your title sucks. I'm not going to lock, but please read the rules. Title must tell what thread is about. HLV-H Question! About what? Cleaning question would have been better.
JRA

Sorry about that JRA. This is my first post and I am not very familiar with the rules yet. Thanks for the tip.

That's one of the reasons I didn't lock. There is a link to the rules about titles at the top of the page. All of the rules are at the top of the "General" page. Cleaning is easy as long as you have an unlimited supply of elbow grease.
JR

If you can take a test cut near the collet you can learn a lot about what the lathe is capable of. I have owned a very worn out HLV lathe, it had about 0.002 taper per inch at the collet, making the lathe pretty useless.