What's new
What's new

Hardinge HLV-H Uncontrollable Speed Changes

robstah

Aluminum
Hey guys,

We have a Hardinge HLV-H here at work, and when you trigger the Faster/Slower switch, the lathe just takes off in either direction. I noticed that the contactors (Essex 101140) are sticking to the point where we have to turn the machine main power off and let them de-energize. Is it actually the contactors sticking, or is it in relation to the speed cam assembly? Before I start taking stuff a part, I'd thought I'd ask. Thanks!

Before you do anything else, does the spindle turn the correct direction when the forward/reverse switch is turned forward? If not reverse the input wires going to L1 and L3 in the cabinet.
If the spindle is turning the right direction and no one has changed any of the original lathe wiring then you have another fault that I have no experience with.
The vari-drive motor is 3 phase also and when a machine is moved and the spindle phasing is reversed the vari-drive will run the wrong way with out the proper limit switch being contacted. This will cause a lock up and the screw will need to be turned by hand to get it off the switch. They usually run correctly after the phasing is corrected.

Before you do anything else, does the spindle turn the correct direction when the forward/reverse switch is turned forward? If not reverse the input wires going to L1 and L3 in the cabinet.
If the spindle is turning the right direction and no one has changed any of the original lathe wiring then you have another fault that I have no experience with.
The vari-drive motor is 3 phase also and when a machine is moved and the spindle phasing is reversed the vari-drive will run the wrong way with out the proper limit switch being contacted. This will cause a lock up and the screw will need to be turned by hand to get it off the switch. They usually run correctly after the phasing is corrected.