What's new
What's new

Hardinge serial numbers 1902-1977

L Vanice

Diamond
Many of you have seen the Hardinge serial number list on the Yahoo! Hardinge lathe and mill groups sites. I am not going to copy the table here, out of legal concerns. I am an engineer, not a lawyer, so I will play it safe. I thought my comments about the table and my own experiences would be of interest to readers of this forum.

The Hardinge 1936-1977 serial number file you have seen, headed "TM-UM-HC CHUCKERS," is actually the main serial number list that applies to almost all old Hardinge machines or tooling. The numbers are for items completed in January of the listed years.

The main number sequence goes back to about 1902 with about Number 1. I have seen early Cataract headstocks with no serial number, so it is not clear when they started numbering. I have only two date/serial data points before 1936, but December 31, 1927 was 5747 and December 31, 1935 was 12395. The 1936-1977 table gives numbers for machines built in January of the year listed. The apparent conflict in the January, 1936 number of 12309 probably reflects a variable lag between number assignment and actual completion of different machines. The highest serial number I have on a Chicago headstock is 11,141. I believe the 1931 switch from Chicago to Elmira was at a serial number between 11,141 and 12,309.