What's new
What's new

How can you clean a DRO optical Scale?

Maximus

Aluminum
I have a AcuRite DRO with optical scales. I found some chips clinging to the rubber wipers and somehow some crud found itself inside the Y axis linear scale. I was able to disassemble the scale and clean off the crud on all the non critical parts.

My question is, what do you use to clean off the optical glass encoder and the encoder reader ? There seems to be a film of oil on both the glass and encoder reader. I was thinking of wrapping some lens cleaning tissue around a Q-tip and wiping it down with either Isopropyl Alcohol or Windex. Are these glass encoders so delicate that you need a special cleaning agent ?

Thanks for any advice.

Max

My day job is as a spectroscopist. We clean all optics with dry methanol or acetone if there is a really stubborn spot. Don't use windex!

Contact AcuRite. Your method appears to be delicate enough but just check
with them, they probably have dealt with this issue many times.

When I took the scale apart, I noticed that the casting that the glass reader is mounted on is broken. It looks like it is made of pot metal. I can't weld it, so I contacted a local AcuRite dealer and they told me that they nor Acurite will repair the scales and they can't sell me the replacement parts. I would have to replace the whole scale. Bummer, I told them. When I had this problem in the past with my Sargon DRO, I was able to have them repair the scale while I took my lunch break and it was finished in a couple hours. They told me Sargon went out of business in 2005. Double bummer !!

BTW, I mickey moused the scale back together and luckily I got it to work. I used a kimwipe wrapped up around a Q-tip and used lens cleaning liquid to clean the glass and reader. Not a 100% fix, but it works like a charm.

Max
Max

I have an old Dynamics Research optical on my Lagun that I cleaned with alcohol and an lint free wipe.