What's new
What's new

I think I screwed up a Hardinge TM mill purchase.

D6Joe

Plastic
I am very new to machining as a hobby. Found a decent looking Hardinge TM mill locally to buy that the seller was asking plenty for. Not having to drive the old gas hog pickup for 5 hours each way to a better area for buying machine tools was very appealing. I was assured it ran fine. Seller was on his lunch hour, in a hurry to get back to work, and the lathe in his shop was hard wired to a roto phase. He did not have the mill hooked up as he did not want to unhook his lathe. The mill was wired with a 3 phase 220 plug, and the transformer in the electrical box on the side of the mill for the 110 volt controls was wired for 220. I made shure to check. Should be 220 - right? Well today I hooked it up to my VFD that I use to run a couple other machines in the shop. Got some humming, power light is on, But no go. Have 110 volt on the control circuits. Looked inside and the motor plate is 440 volt. Not dual voltage, si I cannot just change wires? And maybe the little belt drive motor in there that I think does the 2 speed might not play well with a VFD? Am I screwed? Can I put a 220 volt 3 phase motor in and will it have 2 speeds? Help please.