What's new
What's new

just starting out and got a bridgeport!

alec

Plastic
as the title says i am an aspiring machinist. currently i am a mechanic by trade but have always been interested in machining! i recently got myself a bridgeport series 2 with a 5hp 3ph 575v motor. i picked it up from a machine shop auction for 300 bucks! everything still works, it has automatic feeds and came with R8 collets. the extent of experience i have only extends to what i learned in highschool on these machines. as im new to this im looking to learn as much as i can from the help of this forum and from the experience ill gain from this machine. my first hurtle is getting it home what are my options? and then my second hurtle is how do i power this thing? i was told at the auction from another machinist that i have a few options including a VFD, a rotary phase converter, changing to a 220/240v motor or a 3phase generator. the last one is pretty self explanatory to me but ive never heard of VFD's or rotary phase converters. if i was to change the motor would the machine still be able to keep up with the work load? sorry for all the questions just bear with me everyone starts out somewhere right!?

It is a tall tippy machine. Good to have a machine mover help. You got a deal at 300 so if you have to spend another 300 to get it home safe still a bargain.
You can lower the knee and take table way down to make it less top heavy. Crank the cross travel in tight to the collum. Some you can turn the down head to put the heavy side down.
You can hire a tow truck to lift it straight up / roll a trailer or a truck under it and then lower straight down, Crib in the base and chain it off so it can't tip. Then straight up and move the truck or trailer.

It is really a job for a machine mover.