What's new
What's new

Newbie here saying hi and have a question

petemachinist

Plastic
Good day all,
My name is Pete and I am a general machinist for over 30 years now. I'm into building streetrods and currently run a 1925 ford model t tow truck and have a 1935 ford Tudor that is next for the surgical bay. I have a 14 x 40 lathe and just picked up a great deal on an older bridgeport step pulley J head machine.
The machine itself is really tight and fully functioning so far although needs a good teardown, cleaning and checkover.
The question I have is that this machine is very low to the ground. I could easily sit on a stool and do my milling work. I would like to get this thing up higher by about a foot to make it easier to see what I'm working on as the eyes that could once split a hair can't even see it now lol without the help of glasses.
I've done some searching on the site but haven't found anything but bases with casters.
Has anyone raised their machines higher to make things easier.
Appreciate any advice on base building experiences.
Thanks
Pete

this machine is very low to the ground. I could easily sit on a stool and do my milling work. I would like to get this thing up higher by about a foot to make it easier to see what I'm working on

I'm only 5' 10", but actually DID sit 4 to 8 hours a day on a stool - adjustable-height shop/draughtsman's type with the ring foot-rail - at a long-ago Day Job that involved either an M-head or a 1J Bee Pee.

Not really a lot wrong with that, vs raising the machine, actually.

Not as if a tiny BeePee did largish parts all that often, and if/as/when it does have to handle something that overhangs the table by a lot, that is prolly a greater PITA up-high than lower down where one can more easily bend OVER the protruding bits, look downward at cutter, etc.

2CW