What's new
What's new

Shrieking / Squealing noise during some cuts

humanmilkfarm

Plastic
2:LOL:32 mill - YouTube

^ towards the end

I did some searches and found a couple results, but can never tell if people are talking about the same noise or not.

Anyways, this is my first time cutting steel. It is 1018. It is a Bridgeport Series 1 Vari Speed. Using a brand new 4-flute Carbide 3/4" end mill, taking 0.5 axial and 0.15 depth of cut. Tried 0.003 IPT at 150 SFM at first, then lowered it to 0.0025 and eventually 0.002 IPT and it still squeals like a pig. I realize it's not the best tool path, so that can be optimized. My question is, is there something wrong with the mill like bearings / bushings / belt, or is it just normal chatter from being too aggressive?

Shes only singing in the corner. Redraw the arc a little larger or program with your next smallest cutter. The closer your cutter radius is to part radius, the more it gnna squeal.

Try using a corncob rougher first. Your chatter is what I would expect from a light mill like that with the quill extended that much. A narrower width of cut with a slightly higher feed might help. A smaller end mill would help with the chatter when the tool gets buried in the corner.

OK much appreciated. I was getting worried there a bit.

When doing a spiral cut to make the circular feature in the center, it would always chatter at the same spot - at the bottom and top. Cutting around the sides was smooth as butter. Screenshot 2017-03-02 14.56.55.jpg

Yes, a bigger cut per tooth will load the spindle more. However .003 per tooth sounds plenty high for your mill. A smaller cutter should help though. I am a wimp and would probably run at .006 per rev or .0015 per tooth though with a 1/2" cutter. You can up your RPM with a smaller cutter though.

It really depends on how many parts and what you need for a cycle time.

My input is worth exactly what it costs (free) so take it for what it's worth.

1018 steel.