What's new
What's new

Variable Speed DC Motor or 3Ph. AC motor

Axgold

Plastic
I recently picked up a BP Mill, built in 1957 I believe - Serial number starts with BR33. The motor is shot or so I believe. It is a MF pancake like motor. I tried to run it with a static phase converter and all it did was hummm and Between two of the windings (I forget which two legs of the 9) I have zero resistance. I am installing a RPC for my lathe, varible speed Clausing 20" drill press and maybe my BP Mill.

I have two choices on hand as I picked up several motors at an auction. I have a 2hp 3ph 1725 RPM Baldor motor with 7/8" shaft, C face or a 1 hp Baldor DC motor 1750 RPM, C face, 7/8" shaft with a KB variable speed controller, no heat sink or reversing switch.

I am a hobby machinist at best.

My question to the group is which motor would you install and why? go easy on me, my first post and novice machinist

which motor would you install and why?

Neither.

Bee Pee motors are closely integrated with the overall machine as to coupling to the rest of the drivetrain. More work than it may be worth to do an integration of the 2 HP 3-P motor and changes to the starter and such it would ALSO need (ELSE a VFD..) . Also too much power = shorter life of other parts, few of them free. And then there is the extra mass to deal with.

For the Dee Cee motor, you have the same mechanical integration needs, plus it can easily be heavier than a 3-P motor of even twice the HP, especially if wound for 90/180 VDC the KB serves up.

It also might need a different KB drive than the open, chassis-mount you have. It should be 4Q 'regenerative' so as to handle braking and reversing all in one box, need no contactors - preferably a NEMA-4 or 'washdown' resistant box at that.

Probably best to have the low-profile motor already on the mill rewound, avoiding need of control changes, then just run with your RPC plan.

Else find a proper match as replacement for the existing motor - same reasoning.