What's new
What's new

want to get a lathe

cooltyme

Plastic
Im think about buying a lathe. Im student so im new to this i was looking at the grizzely brand lathes , but i dont mind used old lathe just not sure what worth getting used or new any ideas im up for it .

Cooltyme,

Be aware that this forum is geared towards professional machinists. It is very accommodating of us hobby / amateur / student types, but one cardinal rule is that discussion of home-shop grade machines is strictly forbidden, and will generally get a thread locked. The brand you have mentioned falls into this category. See http://www.practicalmachinist.com/vb/general/machinery-discussion-guidelines-137724/ for details.

That said ... there is a very big difference between a 7x14 or 9x20 machine of this or similar brands, vs. a 14x40 machine of this or similar brands. If you are looking at the former, you will probably find the home-shop machinist forums more helpful, since many more people there will have similar machines. (The Home Machinist! - Index page or http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net/activity.php).

If you are looking at something like a 14x40, you are right on the edge of home-shop grade. The quality of these machines can be inconsistent / iffy ... but many folks have started out with such machines, and some have made money with them. If you do some searching on the General forum, you will find some strong defense of going the route of an import machine on the part of some posters (e.g., Forrest Addy) ... along with a large number of rather impatient rejections of such machines.