What's new
What's new

What can't be restored on an older Bridgeport mill?

crtten

Aluminum
Hello all,

I'm a novice looking to buy my first milling machine. I have read a lot about what to look for when buying a used mill but I'm not very confident that I'll catch all of the issues when I go to actually buy one.

My question is, with old Bridgeport type mills, what typical wear can and can't be easily fixed or restored? Table wear, ways, gibs, quill? If I buy a mill and get it home to realize I have worn ways am I just totally hosed or can they be rescraped etc? My goal being to eventually have a mill that functions like new.

Thank you for the input.

Anything can be repaired given enough time and money.

Every used Bridgeport on this planet has some wear in the ways. It's just a question of how much you can live with. We probably can't answer that for you. If you just want to drill holes and mill weld chamfers, the thing can be pretty well clapped out and you'll never notice.

Ways can be ground and scraped, but that's expensive.

Quills can be ground/plated/lapped. Again, money.

Spindle splines can get pretty badly worn. Not much you can do there except replace the parts.

All parts of the belts drive can be repaired or replaced.

Hello all,

I'm a novice looking to buy my first milling machine. I have read a lot about what to look for when buying a used mill but I'm not very confident that I'll catch all of the issues when I go to actually buy one.

My question is, with old Bridgeport type mills, what typical wear can and can't be easily fixed or restored? Table wear, ways, gibs, quill? If I buy a mill and get it home to realize I have worn ways am I just totally hosed or can they be rescraped etc? My goal being to eventually have a mill that functions like new.

Thank you for the input.

There $ is $ nothing $ that $ can $ not $ be $ repaired $ on $ a Bridgeport! Try to find a good one, it's cheaper to start with a good one than to rebuild a worn out one.