What's new
What's new

X-Axis Feed Problem...

BDMcGrew

Plastic
Good morning everyone...

So I'm going to be honest and admit that I think I screwed up! I'm a newbie here and still learning what I'm doing so please, done shame me too bad :-) I have a Series 1 J with a 1HP motor on it.

Yesterday I was taking what was probably a bit too heavy of a cut and [power] feeding in X (right to left) possibly a bit faster than I should have using a 1" roughing end mill. Things were going along alright and then the cut bogged down and the table kicked back towards the right about .250". I stopped the machine, very quickly.

Now what I'm left with a is a very strange feeding problem in X. When I spin the crank, instead of getting .200" on every revolution I'm getting more like .020" on every revolution. But, it's only doing that when I feed right to left. If I feed left to right, there's now close to .200" of backlash in the screw but once I get past that then I'm feeding the expected .200" per rev when I turn the crank. I don't understand it.

So far I have checked the following:

. Bearing blocks are both seated correctly and tight.
. Hex jam nut on the cranks are snug.*
. Power Feed will still engage and doesn't bind or grind.
. The feed nut retaining screw is snug and there is not a lot of slop in it.
. Washer head screw backing up the feed nut retaining screw is snug.
. The gib is snug and in good shape, even removed and inspected it.

* If I tighten the hex jam nuts on the crank down 'tight' then I can't turn the cranks at all - but it's always been this way too, is this right?

I'm not sure what else there is or what else I should check. I'm trying to avoid pulling the screw out or pulling the table off (which requires removing the DRO).

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

-brian

Probably broke the brass nut or the table casting. Most likely previously abused as I've never heard of one popping from a cut before the endmill breaks.