What's new
What's new

Help ID strange early '80s Bridgeport Factory CNC + oiling question.

Gravelbar

Aluminum
A young man near St. Louis found this machine for me and fitted a brand new Machmotion control system with existing steppers, then he took his payment and went AWOL.

It was still on the original pallet; likely a spare that was never used; very little wear. Serial number is "CNC 375". I can't find anything like it on the web, I'm not even sure what it was called.

Would be nice to date is and get a proper manual, and also I'm confused about lubrication (I'm a scientist who also machines things, not a pro by any stretch.)

See photos; there is a one-shot lube system that appears to be working, but also a plate on the belt housing that seems to refer to things that don't exist and contradicts the "DO NOT OIL" plate on the front. I have old Series I manuals and such but can't find anything on this beast.

Works great, by the way, my first CNC machine and after years of prototyping by hand I love it!

Outdoor photo shows it as found; red label on the left has "Bridgeport Textron" on it.

20140910_150025.jpg20140910_150002.jpg20140910_150007.jpg

Attachments

• photo 1.jpg
    photo 1.jpg
    42.9 KB · Views: 755
They are telling you not to lubricate the vari-drive belt on top. read the plate carefully. Every 2j head has this plate( even the 1.5 hp ones). Its telling you to put some lubriplate into the back gear housing through a provided set screw at specified intervals. The bijur takes care of ways and screws, the backgear is lubed manually, the vari drive is not lubed at all. The quill may have an oil cup as well.

Wow, What a blast from the past. I used to run a Boss 4 back in the mid 80's and this looks even earlier. Is there a tape drive in the electrics cabinet? The spindle looks to have the cam ring to lock the tool in place rather than a draw bar as well.

What are you using to program it? Was it difficult to convert?