What's new
What's new

2D drawing to g-code.

emtor

Plastic
I'm a total newbie at cad, cam and cnc.
Here's my situation: I make knives, and these of course need handles.
I make typical Sami-culture knives and these handles are not simply a round piece of wood. The fact is, they have a quite complicated shape, so complicated in fact that making them by hand is very labour intensive and very difficult to make them look good. It also takes forever to make them.
In order to let you get an idea of what I'm up against let me show you an image of a typical Sami-style knife:

niibi.jpg

Let's say I make a drawing of the profile of this handle, like this:

kniv.jpg

The drawing shows (from top down) the profile viewed from the front (pointing the blade towards you). Then the knife is seen from the side, and lastly seen from the top.

Would a cad/cam-whatever software make enough sense of this 2D drawing to produce g-code or do I need to make a 3D file in cad software?
I do hope I don't need to learn how to make 3D files in a cad software.

I'm grateful for any hints.

Hi emtor:
OK where to begin?
Yes, you need to have a 3D CAD model if you wish to make complete handles to net shape or near net shape on a CNC milling machine.
You will than take that 3D CAD model and design toolpaths onto it allowing you to take chunks of your raw material, fixture them onto your machine and apply cutters to them to chop away the excess.
Depending on the materials you choose and your cutting strategy, you can get parts that will require only finishing (sanding polishing coating) to become complete handles ready for installing onto your blades, or, if you design the process correctly, to shape raw blanks that are already attached to your blades.