What's new
What's new

Adaptive clearing

dlewis1000

Plastic
I'm new to inventor hsm. With the adaptive clearing tool path it keeps attempting to go down into the hole of my part even though its already cleared and finished. Also when using the 2d adaptive clearing why does it not spiral out from the center on holes. Instead it spirals out and then does some weird trochoidal movements in the hole.

Untitled.jpg

I'm new to inventor hsm. With the adaptive clearing tool path it keeps attempting to go down into the hole of my part even though its already cleared and finished. Also when using the 2d adaptive clearing why does it not spiral out from the center on holes. Instead it spirals out and then does some weird trochoidal movements in the hole.

View attachment 161715

You have to tell it not to go into the holes By using the machining boundaries. Also adaptive is the type of tool path, if you want a clean helical spiral rough you need to use pocket or bore.

You have to tell it not to go into the holes By using the machining boundaries. Also adaptive is the type of tool path, if you want a clean helical spiral rough you need to use pocket or bore.

How would i use the boundaries for this part. Im so used to mastercam. Inventor hsm is a way bigger headache then i thought it'd be.

How would i use the boundaries for this part. Im so used to mastercam. Inventor hsm is a way bigger headache then i thought it'd be.

Yeah I'm a featurecam guy but the new shop I'm at bought inventor hsm. I've been blowing up my support guys email for the last 3 weeks ��.

Anyway you have to make a sketch and draw boundaries that you don't want machined, then go into boundaries on your adaptives 2nd tab and click them. Pretty sure this is how I did it...

Yeah I'm a featurecam guy but the new shop I'm at bought inventor hsm. I've been blowing up my support guys email for the last 3 weeks ��.