What's new
What's new

Anyone using Ironcad?

Polishpiper

Aluminum
Hey guys, just wondering if anyone out there is using Ironcad, who was previously using solidworks. We're hiring a draftsman that has experience with pro-e and solid works, and want to select the right drafting program for our application. Right now all of our working prints are in 2d Autocad format. Looking for a couple things we want in our draft package. Right now our assemblies are pretty simple, and our goal is to have models available to oems through website. What I'm afraid of is double documentation and how avoid this. If we make a change to a model feature that has a similar feature across a group of parts, I want to make sure the changes are made globally in the working or dimensional drawings. Right now we don't have an issue as we only have one file... The working drawing. I've downloaded the ironcad trial, and really do like the speed of creating the model (I have zero experience with 3d modeling, I'm a sticks and circles Autocad guy). I just don't know if the slight learning curve for our draftsman to a new program is justified vs going with solidworks. Anyone here have experience with both, and can way the positives and negatives? I'd like an unbiased view, which I can't get from either of the salesmen :). Thanks!

I used it a trial at work.. 60 days total on and on but I can't get used to the GUI. The software itself is pretty powerful but minor things bug such as the rotation it's goofy feels different compared to fusion, solidworks and inventor. I/we decided not to forward with purchase because of just bugs to much and the software isn't to stable.. Fusion is working well for us honestly.

Haven't touched it in the last 10 years but it was what we used for my mechanical drawing class at Purdue. Most of us students didn't care much for using it beyond making pretty models. Personally I stuck with good old AutoCAD but most of my old classmates went with Solidworks, Catia, or ProE.