What's new
What's new

Buying a CNC CAD

longryde

Plastic
Hello-

I am in the thermoforming business. (30 years) I am going to bring tool making (molds) inside my business. The cost of having my molds made has become to frustrating and prohibitive.

I would only have to make 1 to 2 molds a year. I have never worked a cnc machine before, but learn quickly. I am very good with computers.

My biggest mold I would have to make is 19 x 27 and 6 inches deep. The smallest being around 7 inches round.

The molds are simple convex circle and rectangle shaps. Some of which i may be able to to use Ren-shape for short runs, but aluminum for long runs. The material I am shaping is very thin guage (18-20 mil) PET sheet.

I am curently looking at a SHOBOT with a 5 hp columbo spindle and a 1996 HAAS. The Shopbot is more interesting because of everything it can do.

Any advice?

Bill

edgecam or mastercam.
try them both before you buy. they are on my hub

Hi Bill,

Maybe you are using the wrong shop to make your molds?

The cost of having my molds made has become to frustrating and prohibitive.

I would only have to make 1 to 2 molds a year.
To me something doesn't quite add up. If these mold are like simple Vacuumform molds it would be a number of years before you hit break even on cash outlay, not including learning curve.Now if you just want to gain control over you entire process, thats another story. The small mold with simple shape should cost a couple hundred bucks. ( And, no, I am not soliciting buisness. Swamped till well into next year. ;) )

I am sorry, forgive my typing. SHOPBOT is the correct spelling.

I recently had a a quote done for a 19x27 inch - 6 inch deep convex mold. basically a bucket in aluminum. $20,000 dollars. That was it for me.

I can buy a number of machines for that, my learning curve is free - since I work for myself and time is not an issue. I also feel confident in my ability to learn how to do this.