What's new
What's new

CAD Design Services & Machine Shops?

rad1424

Plastic
Hey everyone. I'm a mechanical engineer and entrepreneur in beginning stages of launching a CAD design company.

One of my thoughts was to be able to assist machine shops with CAD services, but I am not exactly sure how to ensure I am adding value at the machine shop level. I was hopeful you would be able to give some feedback on what types of offerings would be useful in your machine shops?

Here are some additional questions to help conversation:

• Would CAD services be valuable to a machine shop?
  • Does your machine shop often get design requests?
  • Would you outsource those design requests?
  • How often do you get design requests?
  • What would be your preferred deliverables?
  • What reservations do you have about outsourcing CAD work?
  • What type of payment structure would be most useful for contracting CAD services, per job or per hour?
  • How much would you be willing to pay hourly for CAD services?
  • Could you mark up a value added CAD service to your end customer?
  • Have you or would you consider outsourcing CAM programming?
  • What reservations do you have with outsourcing CAM programming?
  • What would you be willing to pay for CAM programming services?
  • Anything else that would be helpful to you or I should consider?

Hell Rad,

Best of luck in your endeavors. I cannot comment on the feasibility of this type of business, however, I may be able to add some thoughts to the big picture being someone who frequently uses CAD/CAM and manages others who use it as well. Some thoughts in no particular order: