What's new
What's new

CNC Mill Controller

SpinDoctor

Plastic
I am sure there are quite a few posts about building your own CNC mill, but I was wondering if anyone has a controller that they prefer for one reason or another. I do mechanical design for a living, but I don't know much about the controller and servo/stepper motor portion of this for machining metal (aluminum and/or steel). Has anyone built a router table and used a controller that works well? Or, do you have advice when looking for a controller and drive motors?

Any information or advice would be helpful.

Thank you

Welcome to the forum. This might be worth a search in Google to get you started:

practical machinist cnc controller

Browse through to get some "flavor" of what people think, then check out websites for the controls frequently mentioned. Letting us know the size and power levels you're shooting for would help too. Keep in mind this is mostly a professional forum, smaller and hobby equipment is usually better served on sites with that as their main focus.

Most capable lathe control = Okuma
Fastest lathe control for programming in tool shop = Mazatrol
Best Mill control = Haas

I am sure there are quite a few posts about building your own CNC mill, but I was wondering if anyone has a controller that they prefer for one reason or another. I do mechanical design for a living, but I don't know much about the controller and servo/stepper motor portion of this for machining metal (aluminum and/or steel). Has anyone built a router table and used a controller that works well? Or, do you have advice when looking for a controller and drive motors?

Any information or advice would be helpful.

Thank you

I have Centroid CNC controls mounted to a bed mill and have been very happy with the system. It is well thought out with intuitive and easy to use controls. Plan to spend about $10,000 for the servos, computer and electronics.