What's new
What's new

Do many companies rely solely on 3D models direct to CAM and NOT use drawings??

Neil

Hot Rolled
I am now a test engineer burning stuff like fire doors for a living. One of our clients claim they cannot send us drawings(which we need) because "they use Solidworks and rely solely on the models."
1. How common is this? I thought this was merely a pipe dream for many companies wishing to save money on making drawings.
2. How do you manage tolerances without drawings and solely using 3d models?
3. I think drawings should continue to be used even if you do send all your models to the floor to be made without drawings. Am I hopelessly nostalgic? I thought I was being practical. Thoughts?

Reduced dimension drawing are becoming more common. The drawing will only call out critical dimensions, like bore sizes, thread specs, etc. Everything else comes off the solid model. Works great as long as the solid model is worth a shit.

Done properly the solid model with have tolerances baked into the definition, and will helpfully even do stackup analysis based on it.

Drawings are easier, but slower and frankly the more complicated the part gets the less value they have. A cube? Sure a drawing helps. A drafted injection molded nurbs surface? Eh...

Should you be programming off a drawing? Oh good lord no, not if you want to have any prayer of staying competitive.

If they send you a solid model that isn't toleranced, send it back just like you would a 2d drawing that isn't toleranced. If you don't know how to get at tolerances that may or may not be baked in, then time to do some tutorials.

My $.02

I am now a test engineer burning stuff like fire doors for a living. One of our clients claim they cannot send us drawings(which we need) because "they use Solidworks and rely solely on the models."
1. How common is this? I thought this was merely a pipe dream for many companies wishing to save money on making drawings.