What's new
What's new

BOBCAD and my experience so far

psient

Cast Iron
Hi:

So . . . . I have a bridgeport but I'm looking for a vmc to install at home. I'm a retired professor. My dad was a Machinist during WWII on a sub tender and after that was a electrical engineer working during the cold war (up until about 1994).

I just started getting software so that I can learn what I need to know in order to ask questions intelligently here. About three weeks ago there was a thread concerning which CADCAM to get (I don't remember exactly which thread) with a lot of comments about license transfer and the different companies. It was interesting that many of those participating made it clear the BOBCAD seemed much more reasonable about this as their business model incorporated folks constantly feeding into the revenue stream via version releases modules etc. I thought this was no big deal as Autocad, SW, and Mastercam are going to treat me incidentally.

I also watched Al get a lot of harping while acting like an adult and not saying anything at all unless it helped the OP. It was Al that convinced me his company was legit beyond a simple (not simplistic BTW) scheme to squeeze people like me.

I thought I would post what has been happening to me concerning BobCad

As I am typing this . . .

I am in the middle of transferring the license. I found out that I cannot have the software installed on my laptop and my computer in my office. I remember before we had chips in the computer that could ID us, many software companies would let you have a copy on 2 machines as long as they weren't running at the same time. I had trouble explaining this to the corporate type taking care of the transfer itself. They didn't get what I was asking and eventually I gave up trying to explain that. although on the same property, my shop was a long way from my office here at home and running back and forth between them to get something done would be difficult.