What's new
What's new

Has anyone had luck scanning a color photo in black & Whiteand importing it to CAD..

snowshooze

Stainless
Has anyone had luck scanning a color photo in black & Whiteand importing it to CAD..

I am new to CAD/CAM with Bobcad V28 which I am still fighting my way through.
Overall, I am absolutely amazed.
Anyhow, I was watching various ways of tracing and splining.
A bunch of fooling around there.
I haven't tried to scan color to B&W, play with contrast a bit..send to Bobcad..
But it seems like it should work.
Anybody try this?
Thanks,
Mark

Cool. Thanks for the reply.
Yeah, Bobcad can vectorize. I just now tried sending the color image through it, JPG vectorized it, tool-pathed and simulated.
Pretty rough, but still identifiable.
I am wondering what my copier can do.
Ok, I ran the photo through Picasa, got to B&W.
It didn't vectorize any better.
I tried the embossed model, and it was beautiful on screen, however, as I am quite new I suppose, I could not come up with an acceptable level of definition.

Last edited:
Inkscape is a free download that will do many of the things Corel draw does for us. The current version can be downloaded and used for up to a month, IIRC, and if you keep an eye out, you may be able to take advantage of a back-to-school sale.

There are a BUNCH of different programs available in the sign and such sphere, the folks that are running the 3 axis routers and the like, that will do great things with a direct input of a raster graphic, as far as converting it to engravable half-tones and such, though you will have to dig around a bit.

I also recall running across a software (free, I think) that allowed you to project an image onto the computer screen, it would keep it on the top and you could vary the opacity, allowing you to essentially trace the outline. Sorry, cannot recall the names.

Lots of options out there without spending a pile, and even more options if you have any sort of budget to work with.

Cheers
Trev