What's new
What's new

Height Compensation

MarioRicci

Plastic
Hi all,

New to Forum. I've been a CAD/CAM machinist for around 20 years now, but have spent my whole time on Heidenhain controllers. I've recently bought myself a small Chinese VMC for my garage at home, and am having to learn G code programming quickly. The problem I'm having is the post is producing programs with the G43 H### line in it after a tool change, but has the first Z movement in the line as well, problem is sometimes it activates the height compensation, and sometimes it doesn't. It's difficult to understand, as I can restart the same program, and sometimes it will activate it.

I would have thought the G43 H## should be on a separate line before any Z movement?

Regards

Mario

I'm going to have to try and find someone that would be able to edit the post, as I'd have no idea how to do that

My posts (from Mastercam) all output like this -

G43 H1 Z3. T2 (< tool stage, may or may not apply to you)

Thinking... I believe every machine I have used output the G43 and z move on same line...

I'm looking at the post now and I don't see where it is, but I am just a beginner with post editing so don't take my word for it. :D

Question, does the G43 need a Z move to 'turn on', like using a G41/42 move?

Perhaps you need to cancel the offset before applying a new one. G49 is used to cancel a height offset.

That's exactly how mine outputs as well, but I just can't work out why sometimes the comp is activated and sometimes it doesn't. It doesn't seem to be related to what type of toolpath it is either, it happens when drilling, contouring, whatever. But I can then restart the same program and it will be fine... sometimes. The controller is called a GSK, the machine a Primener. The controller is a knockoff of a Fanuc, so I've been told