What's new
What's new

HSMWorks vs CamWorks

Ejb410

Plastic
I'm looking for a comparison between HSM and CamWorks and of course the first link I find is perfect, but the Screencast is missing....

Page Not Found | Autodesk Knowledge Network...

Does anyone have any information, preferably based on personal experience, about the key differences between these two softwares? I'm running HSM right now so I'm really more interested in hearing the +/- of CamWorks.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

I have been using CAMworks (really Solidworks CAM) now for about 2 months. I used fusion 360 for 3-4 months prior to that. Some of the CAMworks VAR's have created lots of great videos that really give a good feel for CAMworks. I used these to decide on my path forward and if you know HSM it will give you your best information. I am happy with it so far but still have a lot of tweaking and learning to do. I am working on some parts that I really need to optimize so I started with single parts and now decided to cut them out of a strip so I am still working on learning the CAMworks assemblies mode. Based on what I have seen both of these will get you where you want to go just a different route.

Thanks for the input Pete. I guess I don't see the difference between the integration of CAMWorks to that of HSM. They both have tabs right in Solidworks, I'm able to start programming directly from a SLDPRT file or assembly. The only true difference I've noticed between them are the pricing tiers. CAMWorks had something like 7 options on their website, whereas HSM has 2 (not including 360). What I'm getting at is, the benefits that CAMWorks advertises seem to be equal to those of HSM.