What's new
What's new

Looking for a laptop... with black friday coming..

rb1

Cast Iron
I need a laptop... something I can do my CAD/CAM with from home or on the road. I am considering using something like team viewer to directly control my shop cad/cam computer from said laptop... but would still like something powerful enough that I can run those programs directly from the laptop (without logging in).

I have Alibre and OneCNC XR4... and I have only used desktop computers with those programs.

Seeing as black friday sales are going to be out, and the fact that I am not a "computer guy" who knows what the specs need to be by looking at an ad... I was hoping someone here would suggest a good laptop for my needs that I can look out for in the flyers, TIA!!

I feel your pain....
My job is 75% done on the computer. I have no knowledge of what represents a good computer as opposed to a shitty one. Best advice I can give you.....talk to someone at the company of whatever cad/cam you use and ask them for a spec. sheet, then go talk to a computer geek at the store and ask him/her which model fits the bill.

I feel your pain....
My job is 75% done on the computer. I have no knowledge of what represents a good computer as opposed to a shitty one. Best advice I can give you.....talk to someone at the company of whatever cad/cam you use and ask them for a spec. sheet, then go talk to a computer geek at the store and ask him/her which model fits the bill.

Just a little tidbit from experience, try for double the RAM that the minimum requirements state (For Solidworks its 8GB, I went with 16 after 8 was too slow)

the requirements that you will be given are MINIMUM, meaning that the program will run, but barely... after that its all up to your budget.