What's new
What's new

MasterCam to NX learning curve.

zr1nsx

Aluminum
I have been using MasterCam for the last 7+ years and am now facing a opportunity to move to another company. I use MasterCam everyday, but mostly on 2.5D and maybe 20% in 3D surfacing. I'm very comfortable with MasterCam in 2.5D(almost automatic) operations but continue to learn each and every time I get into 3D surfacing and solids importing and modifying. The company I am considering going to uses NX to program DMG-Mori 3 axis and 5 axis mills as well at their turning center. The company I'm presently with doesn't really have a Design Engineer so the machining I do now is on Solids that I have designed, or files that are supplied to me from a variety of design packages. Solid Works, Pro-E, etc. How similar are the two packages and what can I expect as far as a transition from MasterCam to NX. It weighs heavily on my mind wondering if I can pick up NX quickly and be able to generate reliable G-Code.

nx

I have been using MasterCam for the last 7+ years and am now facing a opportunity to move to another company. I use MasterCam everyday, but mostly on 2.5D and maybe 20% in 3D surfacing. I'm very comfortable with MasterCam in 2.5D(almost automatic) operations but continue to learn each and every time I get into 3D surfacing and solids importing and modifying. The company I am considering going to uses NX to program DMG-Mori 3 axis and 5 axis mills as well at their turning center. The company I'm presently with doesn't really have a Design Engineer so the machining I do now is on Solids that I have designed, or files that are supplied to me from a variety of design packages. Solid Works, Pro-E, etc. How similar are the two packages and what can I expect as far as a transition from MasterCam to NX. It weighs heavily on my mind wondering if I can pick up NX quickly and be able to generate reliable G-Code.
there are few tutorial books on NX. on internet i found
Dr. Ming C. Leu