What's new
What's new

Mastercam Training recommendations

tyler8me

Plastic
Hello all, I am currently working as a machinist and I program with mastercam x6 at work. I would really like to do injection molding work, I am an engineering student so I have an okay background in solid modeling software like solidworks. But I don't think my mastercam surfacing skills are up to snuff. Can anyone suggest some kind of training I could do so I can move toward moldmaking. Thanks for your time

Hello all, I am currently working as a machinist and I program with mastercam x6 at work. I would really like to do injection molding work, I am an engineering student so I have an okay background in solid modeling software like solidworks. But I don't think my mastercam surfacing skills are up to snuff. Can anyone suggest some kind of training I could do so I can move toward moldmaking. Thanks for your time
If your willing to pay, i would call your nearest mastercam rep and tell him what you want. there is a website called http://www.mastercamu.com/index.html...also a good invesment. emastercam.com has helped me out alot when i have questions.

First of all thank you for your time, for mastercamu do I need to buy a full version of mastercam?
which one of Mike Mattera's videos do you think I should get the x6 hst 3d or the intro to mastercam one or should I get both.

Thanks again

In the MasterCAM classes I teach, we are using books from In-House Solutions. I've been using them for a couple of years now, and really like them.

I have used caminstructor.com (Mastercam Training Books, Tutorials, Videos and Online Courses - CamInstructor) and have been very happy with them. It has a nice relaxed pace that helps when you are jumping around in the course (just have to figure out how to do that one thing before you go through the whole course), not too boring but it does not go so fast that it is a lot of work to keep up. The learning part sort of sneaks up on you.