What's new
What's new

Most efficient CAM system for 2.5 axis?

Jrill

Aluminum
We make almost entirely prismatic/2.5 axis type parts. Heatsinks and small details and the like, no turning. I've been using HSMxpress for the past 3 years and it has been able to do almost everything necessary and has really good toolpaths, but creating each operation is slow and it's sometimes buggy and the tool crib is junk, but it's amazing for being free (excluding Inventor). It just wastes so much of my time. From a perspective of repeat orders, it would probably be fine if the feed/speeds took care of themselves more. From a perspective of new orders, it's slow.

So, what are some good options for quick and easy 2.5 axis CAM? I have been using the free trial for FeatureCAM and it has some intelligent... features... but it seems way more cumbersome and difficult than it should be, as if the only thing that's been updated since 2004 is the name. There are a lot of good CAM systems out there but I haven't seen a thread focusing solely on speed/ease/reliability/efficiency for 2.5 axis, so I'll start this one.

I use Mastercam for Solidworks and have no complaints about anything. HSM re-machining toolpaths using stock models are a massive time saver for us. And from what I've seen & heard, nobody can currently beat the level of control over toolpaths that Mastercam has. That might not be important to you though. You also might want to mention a budget.

From a perspective of repeat orders, it would probably be fine if the feed/speeds took care of themselves more.
I just want to clarify, you aren't reprogramming repeat orders every time, are you? I'm not sure what CAM has to do with repeat orders at all, actually.

Gonna be tough to beat HSM in the free market:D

It's tough to beat HSM in the 2.5 and 3 axis market at any price actually, it's the beyond 3d stuff and turn mill where HSM has serious competition.