What's new
What's new

The nature of this forum?

Dan B

Hot Rolled
I have just registered on this forum in the hopes of getting some input from a more professional group, and less of a hobbiest point of view. Am I in the right place, I wonder?

I have been with CNCZone for quite a while, even being a moderator there. It's a good site, but I think the emphasis and discussion is very hobby oriented. When I ask questions about CAM software, I get responses that seem more orientated to people working out of their garages and basements. Nothing wrong with that, and I appreciate the advice, but I think (excuse the lack of humility here)I am coming from a different level. I am a CAM manager at a company that employs over 100 people and does annual business in excess of $20 million.

To us CAM software is one of the most critical tools we have to remain competitive in a very cut-throat business. We currently use WorkNC, and have been for 12 or 13 years. As a CAM Manager, one of my duties is to make sure our CAM software remains current and valid. In other words, is there something better out there?

CNCZone participants heavily promote OneCNC as the "best" CAM software out there, but don't seem to be "up to speed" with the idea of HSM, or completely understand the delicate balance between profit and loss and how a CAM software fits in that role.

Interestingly, I was given references from OneCNC for users in my area (which is the automotive capital of Canada, with 120+ mold shops and numerous other tool shops) and not a single user in this city. That says a lot.

So here is my question:

Is this forum geared toward professionals in the mold/tool&die/fixture business, or is it more hobby oriented, like CNCZone.

Thanks

Dan

Dan,