What's new
What's new

Need help choosing next CAM software!

emagray

Plastic
Ok, so I've been browsing the forum, company websites, and anywhere I can find info about all the different CAM systems available. Now I have an idea what I may get, but I'm open to hear some suggestions from programmers with experience working with the different software.

To give a little background, I've been designing products in Solidworks for about 7 years and programming in the standalone version of Mastercam for 4 years. I've come to know the good, bad, and ugly of my current workflow and am finally ready to give it a makeover.

The biggest hiccup in my workflow is the link between design/engineering changes and updating the cnc programs. I've learned to work around this to make it consume as little time as possible with my current setup, but to have the design models associated with the programs would make my life worlds easier.

I see there is a large debate over whether Mastercam is the best or the worst, and personally I don't really care. I know that I like the amount of control it gives me, but I know it's also lacking in areas I need to improve in.

Recently I began demoing SolidCAM. It looks very promising on their website and youtube videos, but after using it for a few hours I started having difficulty doing things that Mastercam has always allowed me to do. I really like the associative feature of SolidCAM and the geometry selection tools, but it doesn't seem to have the number of options or toolpaths I'm used to in Mastercam. I will try to play with it more but I'm still on the lookout for possibly better options.

As of right now I'm looking at either SolidCAM, Mastercam for Solidworks, HSMworks, or CAMworks. Those are the only Solidworks integrated CAM systems I know of and I'm hoping you guys can give me some feedback as to which one may be best for what I am looking for.

Feel free to ask me anything you think might help you point me in the right direction!