What's new
What's new

New to CAD

51cub

Plastic
Hi all. I've been hanging around PM for a while, but brand new to the CAD forum. I have a chance to take a CAD course. An interest in drafting, a want to use it in my hobbies, and maybe even an eventual career change are the biggest reasons. But, I have questions I hope some here would answer. What minimum computer should I have available to me at home? Are there books I can read before the course started? I have zero experience. I've found some videos on you tube, but everything I saw so far seems to assume at least a little knowledge. Am I jumping the gun? Should I try to do some reading, and get a little practice on my own from the free demos I see on the internet, and take the course the next time it comes around? Thanks for any advice you have.

The computer you have now will be fine until you are not the bottleneck in the process. For those of us that use it every day on large models it pays to have a really badass machine but it will take a while before you get there. Get a free copy of Fusion 360. The future is 3D and once you have any 3D program under your belt the next four are easy! We actually generate the POs to order the parts for the systems we build from the 3D model. We update the model and the new orders will reflect all the different parts.