What's new
What's new

New to CAM..Best Practices and methods

Chips-Ahoy

Aluminum
I have been programming at the control for a few years and I just recently decided to start using CAM software. We (My company) has had software since I got here but, know one ever uses it. I have started to use it and I would just like some advice on the best methods and reasons behind them. For example...while fat fingering it at the control I never had my tool paths arc into a cut..but It seems to be a default method of software. I understand why...but I do not understand why I want to arc in with certain size R vs the default setting. Aslo I have the option to set my lead-in feed, lead-out feed individually..Generally I run my lead in a slight bit slower and the lead out the same as my cutting feed. Any advice is appreciated.

It'd be helpful if you let us know what software it is.

So we have CAM Works and HSM Xspress (The free version of HSM Works). I have Haas machines and they do not have the High speed look ahead turned on...so I have not been able to use HSM Xspress to its full advantage.

CAM Works is the most hideously designed software I have ever used, where ergonomic flow and general use of the software is concerned. I have used it some, but I need to sit down and figure out the data base and tweek it. AFR dose not work at all at this point.

I am mostly concerned with the reasons behind some of the options software allows me and applicable examples of where they might be used.

Also I am only using software for the mills. VF1 w/ a 4th and EC400 Horizontal. I have never done any full 4th contouring/surfacing ...but I cant wait to have a reason to.

Well snap, I don't have experience with either of those, although I do have a few different cam systems under my belt.

Is there anything more specific you have questions about? I'd like to help, but the question is so broad I don't know where to start.