What's new
What's new

Newbie needs advice on software program to study , to go from design to manufacture

Spud

Diamond
Total newbie here. I am planning on taking a software geared towards CAD / CAM at local vocational college .

Looking though the classes offered, it looks like Solidworks 1 might be what I am after, but am not sure.

Course description: " This course introduces parametric solid modeling using SolidWorks software. Students focus on part modeling and assembly skills with an emphasis on design. Detail drawing with dimensioning and rapid prototyping techniques are also introduced. "

No pre-requistes for the class.

MATC (Milwaukee Area Technical College) . I am in Waukesha county so can attend either MATC or WCTC. Anyone here familiar with either MATC or WCTC?

https://infonline.matc.edu/live-inf...NIDX=6920240750&SS=1&APP=ST&CONSTITUENCY=WBDF

I want to learn software technology that would enable me to design small simple objects or modify existing simple widgets . Once I have the design and dimensions down, I would want a CNC mill or manual mill to machine the object out of raw material or modify an existing widget to my design . Need to learn how to transfer designs from brain to computer and on to a CNC mill . Could also use Rapid Prototyping instead of milling for some ideas.

Possible Alternatives:

This course teaches Inventor
Description: This course introduces parametric solid modeling using Inventor Software. Course is focused on modeling skills for creating parts, assemblies, detail drawings. Rapid prototyping techniques are also introduced.

This course teaches PTC Creo
Description: This course introduces parametric solid modeling using PTC Creo (Pro/E). Students are introduced to modeling skills for creating parts, assemblies, detailed drawings and rapid prototyping techniques.