What's new
What's new

Programming for so many years on my own and wondering how the real world does it.

13engines

Stainless
Programming for years on my own. Wondering how the real world does it.

What I've learned since reading these forums, is that everybody has their own way of doing things. And some of them very different from me.

A little background.

Even though I've operated a job shop for almost 15 years, I've never worked in another machine shop in my life other than my own. Everything has been self taught. That is why I'm here to, in a minute, ask others how they do things and with what resources. I'm a long time BobCAD user still using V21, because after trying and buying V23, I couldn't imagine anything getting worse, or being so bad at developing machining code, and drawing for that matter. Now I only use V23 for opening files that V21 has trouble with. And a few small other things. (I should note that I do only milling, and BC is at V28.)

98% of my programming is done off of 2D drawings. I select the tools, and when and how they run. I set all the feeds and speeds and DOC and the like. I use certain CAM functionality available in V21 like pocketing, helical path, and profile, which allows me to choose a part feature outline, tell the tool where to start and which direction to run, give it a lead in and out of my choosing and so on. Trust me, I'm not typing in any X or Y coordinates, or I's J's or K's manually at all. I do a fair amount of copy and pasting but little direct typing other then some M and comp or exact stop G codes, Z moves and feed rates, notes in parenthesis, and bring the table to where I want it for fixture work and reloading.

Questions form.