What's new
What's new

Prototrak/RS232 cable to drive help wanted

Mrgreen

Plastic
Hello,

I am new to machining and actually just purchased another mill today!

The issue i have at hand is my Prototrak M3 on my supermax YCM-30 has been acting up with the B drive and not liking to save the programs or read the disc:angry: The controller aside from that works fine and i love the 3 axis. I pulled the box/Computer apart hoping to replace the 3.5 floppy, nope the two drives are attached. I called SWI and they only swap out the whole controllers now for huge money and only offer 90 days and the one they swap too me might not even be as good, just will load the programs:nono:

After some bantering the tech said i could purchase a cable kit #23984 and some part from a company Sabrent part # CB-RS232 a usb 2.0 to serial DB9 male cable. He mentioned with a laptop and attching these cable to the prototrak i can load and save to my laptop???? I have a external 3.5 floppy drive that plugs USB into my laptop and i am hoping i can make this work for now.

My question is: will this work? what process do i need other than plugging things in? I am hoping i can call pull from the RS232 on the trak screen and it what reads directly from the drive attached to my laptop?

Sorry for the long post just hoping i can get this to work or find a trak floppy for sale LOL

Thanks Mark

Mark it is definitely possible to send/receive programs to the machine via RS232. I had a disk drive go bad on my "rebuilt" AGE3 computer and found a new one on Ebay for under $15. SWI wanted almost $200 for same thing. It was a standard pc part, just punch in the number on your old drive and see what is out there.

PM me your email address, I'll send you a PDF file of the cad/cam/dnc manual which details how to setup the RS232 cable. It was very helpful when setting up my machine.

Thank you!