What's new
What's new

Rhino + Madcam + RhinoWorks + Scan&solve ???

ishman

Plastic
Hello everyone !

I need you people's help regarding my step towards Rhino 3D + Madcam Expert (5 Axis for Cam) + RhinoWorks (for Parametric and Assembly) + Scan&solve (for FEA). All comes under 4k.

I will use these tools for machine development like small Press, Drills and other mechanical parts. Till now I am not experienced with any CAD software. And I can't spend too much time and money. Is it a complete and better choice ? as I mentioned above or there is some better complete solution then this.

Thanks in advance.

I am a long-time Rhino user and think it's a great value for what it is. However, it has some real limitations in a traditional CAD workflow. The forthcoming Rhino5 addresses the lack of parametric modeling to a limited extent, but it's still a long way from something like SolidWorks. There is a total lack of database or spreadsheet linkage, which is essential in most product development environments. (Despite its limited market share, IronCAD scores very high in those areas.) On the plus side, the integration with Grasshopper and other tools is awesome.

I tried out the Scan&Solve evaluation recently and was pleased with the ease of use. The price is quite moderate. However, I would want to compare S&S results against another FEA tool carefully before trusting life or property to its results. That's a caution I would have with any new FEA tool, so I'm not being specifically critical of S&S.

I don't have any personal experience with Madcam or RhinoWorks.

If you can work within the limitations of the tools, I think your suggested toolkit is excellent value for the money.

Actually I know that I am going to get much less then SW or Inventor etc. ! And I liked the idea of instant 3D in SW. But in other areas like cam, parametric assembly and FEA it seems you can make things rapidly in my opinion.