What's new
What's new

Small shop guy needs CAD/CAM

STJ7780

Cast Iron
I have been a small time machinist and small shop owner for some time. I do mostly one off stuff for custom cars and what ever else comes my way. I recently have sold a large production order, my first, and made a decent amount at the same time. Did it all on a manual Bridgeport. Well now they came back with another large order. I have decided it is time for a CNC mill in the shop. I have spent a considerable amount of time looking for a solution and I have found a couple of machines that will fit the bill and budget. Now I am on to finding CAD/CAM software to design and produce parts. I would love to have high end software but I am on a budget so I need something around $1000 or less. I have looked at Dolphin and BobCad. Dolphin seems pretty good, don't know about the CAM part. Bobcad has numerous horror stories but the there seems to be a lot of users out there. I am looking for any one who has walked in my shoes and can offer advice to a guy trying to get a small shop into the new age. Thanks again Practical Machinist! :D
Steve

A good low cost starting point you can grow with is Alibre for CAD and Visualmill for CAM.
This combination is very good even with 4 axis work.

Michael

Hi Steve

Onecnc XR4 Express 2.5D would be your best bet for that kinda money ,Dolphin and BC might do the job but I,d bet youll get reliable code out of Onecnc way quicker and more easily.

If then you need 3D there are 3 levels above to progress to.

Cheers Kev :cheers:

If you have the time - take advantage of the free demos. I tried several well regarded systems that just did not seem intuitive for me. I ended up purchasing BobCad, invested in a 3-day training seminar with Sorin that was well worth it, and am happy with it. I am now doing a lot of 3d parts with it.
-Scott