What's new
What's new

Solidworks , 3D guidance or help on making these dies.

bmikkalson

Hot Rolled
Hi, I'm a total self taught solidworks guy, I've been able to get by making simple parts and such. Now I have a design and I don't even know where to start or who I would call. Using a student version of SW

Nit expecting some one to do my home work for me, I need some guidance, I don't mind putting in the work .
I am having trouble creating the reliefs and blends in these thumb nail dies.
Where and how do I even start?

My ultimate goal is to machine my own. But that's down the road.

Could try with a simple block extrusion, then insert a plane at an angle to draw the profile of the protrusion on and extrude it out. Then start adding fillets and chamfers. Use a similar process to create the female half, but make an extruded cut

I agree with the other Doug. If you are trying to replicate what is there, I would have them scanned.
You could have the scanning source provide cross sections so that you have a little bit of control while modeling.

guess it depends on how close your trying to match whats in the picture.

If just eyeballing it, draw the profile and then do a tapered cut/extrude.. throw some fillets on it, and that should be good enough.

Looks like half of a conical boss.
Measure height of male boss.
Measure width of male boss at widest end.
Measure length of male boss as best you can.
Approximate radii with radius gages or w/e works.

Model a block in Solidworks that suits the die size.
Model a cone into the block with center of base diameter at midpoint of one edge of the block as shown in the pics.
Fillet the tip of the cone to the appropriate radius to round the point.
Fillet the joining edges around the periphery of the boss.

Create a second die block by subtracting the first from a new block object.
Offset the surface whatever material thickness to create the appropriate gap. Assuming it's a uniform gap. I dunno.