What's new
What's new

cad/cam for tormach 1100

I am new at this, looking to buy a tormach 1100 what would be a good cad/cam? 30 years of manual machining, did own and run a '81 cnc lathe manual punched in the G-Codes. Albere PE and Spurt cam Im think will work. Any input would be helpful. (yes I still look for handwheels cranks on a CNC)

I've had a PCNC 1100 for 5 years or so now and use Alibre Expert for design and SprutCAM for the CAM. Sprut's come a long way in the past 5 years, but the manual still suffers a bit from the Russian translation. There are Sput tutorials on YouTube, one set by TormachLLC and the other by Dukes4Monny (the UK Sprut distributor). Were I you, I'd download the 30-day SprutCAM demo from Tormach and set aside a few days to go through the tutorials. That should be enough to tell you if SprutCAM's workflow is a good one for you.

Tormach is the USA distributor for SprutCAM and one of their on-staff engineers provides very good support.

Mike

Thank you for the info. I have been a manual machinist since 82, Mid 90s I did own a Lanuc cnc lathe had to MDI everything, huge machine, could swing 42" 20 hp. I learned real quick that those little things like - and . need to be in the right place.

Thank you for the info. I have been a manual machinist since 82, Mid 90s I did own a Lanuc cnc lathe had to MDI everything, huge machine, could swing 42" 20 hp. I learned real quick that those little things like - and . need to be in the right place.

I think something you need to decide is if you want a draw / cam workflow or are you thinking about a draw / cam / hand edit the GCODE workflow.

There are a lot of operators who do a really great job at writing their own GCODE. More power to them, they can do some very impressive operations that way.