What's new
What's new

Thinking of going with EZ-CAM for software..?

comp 670

Aluminum
Hi, I'm very new to the cnc world. I bought a used Haas VF3 to run as a home based business. I have the machine up and running, have a small amount of tooling and now I need to buy some software. I have used Gibbs a little about ten years ago and liked it but I did struggle with it at times. Tried Mastercam a few months ago and it confused me trying to navigate thru it. I'm told EZ-CAM is fairly user friendly for a newbie like me but can also do fairly complicated stuff as I learn how to? I was hoping to buy Gibbs but was quoted almost $9000 today plus yearly maintenance fees and that killed that idea.

Thanks for any info you can give.

I had the ezmill express package and did not care for it one bit. Ask Chris at ezcam about a full unlocked trial period. If he wants to sell he can do it for you. Don't let him give you the scenario of what you are trying to do with it. I had for some simple 3d cutting and it wouldn't do it, so that completely turned me away. I have heard good things about fusion 360 and am going to try that and it is free for the home guy.

I have have been using ezcam for a few years and I do not recommend it. It does too much weird stuff and when you ask chris about it he just says that's the way it is. It does work well for some stuff but after I updated to 2016 I don't trust it anymore. I have EZmill pro and EZturn Pro. The lathe side does still suck but I can make parts with it with C axis fine. The HSM paths are a joke. I have not done any 3d stuff with it yet but will soon.