What's new
What's new

whats the best software for a someone new to cnc?????

Long lost Father ??

Hi 2Lane,

I couldn't help but notice the strong resemblance there was between us at the last family get together !!
If it turns out that we are related, does that mean you will get me a CNC also ?? I am taking a CAD class right now at the local community college.

Regards, Ron (Long lost relative):cheers::drool5: :D:D

What a great present! There's lots that can be done with no software at all. What is your level of experience? How are you at programming? Your son will likely be able to pick up any program very quickly, but he will need some fundamentals before he can do anything useful.

i have no experience in cnc i'm a race car fabricator i have a manual mill and lathe that i use to make bushing and i just started re splining axles my son has a lot of interest in machining and cnc and picks stuff up real fast so i got him the bridgeport to learn on in fact i got another 3 axis cnc today its a magnum with a dynapath 10 controler the local community college here has a so so cad class but you have to be 16 to go so i wanted to get him a good cad/cam program to start learning so he would be ahead of the game i wish we had a local cnc machine shop that he could get a job at cleaning the floor or something thats how i started with the race car stuff i think thats the best way to learn start at the bottem and work your way up but these day people don't do things like that most kids are not interested in any thing and nothing is getting passed down.
What a great present! There's lots that can be done with no software at all. What is your level of experience? How are you at programming? Your son will likely be able to pick up any program very quickly, but he will need some fundamentals before he can do anything useful.

The best software for someone new to CNC is Windows Notepad or another text editor.