What's new
What's new

WorkNC vs. Powermill (3ax), which and why?

Harri

Cast Iron
Looking for a powerful 3 axis CAM solution for general prototyping and high precision optical surfaces. Both candidates look nice and powerful, both have good local sales & support. One month demos are available, but that's only good for a honeymoon. If anyone has a lot of experience with either, I'd really appreciate some input on both the good and the bad. It's a big investment and I'd like to get it right ;)

Top priorities:

-great code
-ease and automation of code creation (prototypes; need to get the job done quickly without fighting bugs and workarounds)
-speed (64 bit and multicore support)
-good with high-tolerance freeform surfaces
-good post processor editor
-good support

Many thanks/Harri

Hi Harri, can't help you with the Powermill software as I've no personal experience of it other than to say a company I worked at had it and it worked well for them.

To answer your specific questions with regard to Work NC:

Great Code: I've used WNC for over tens years and have cut thousands of parts with it including some very complex parts and can honestly say hand on heart I've never ever had any bad code. Any issues have been either machine or operator based problems, not software.

Ease of automation of code creation: WNC allows you to set up machining templates that you can easily adapt to whatever you're machining. Like most mould toolmakers I machine a wide variety of materials with soft materials like copper/graphite through to fully hardened tool steels, once you've built up your libraries you can use them over & over again.

Speed (64 bit multicore support): See previous post:typing: