What's new
What's new

BSME but now i want to make chips!

moparx12

Plastic
Hi guys,

I wanted to get some opinions on the path i should take to pursue a career change into CNC machining.

Just to give you a brief summary of my background, I am in my late 20's, working as a mechanical design engineer in Greenville, NC. I have a bachelors degree in mechanical engineering (BSME).

In high school, i took 1 year of a two year machine tool technology program, which i dropped out of for year 2 because i decided to take the engineering path and take all the advanced math and science classes i could in my senior year.

2 years into engineering school, i worked one summer at a local machine shop operating a cnc lathe, 3 axis cnc mill, and manual machines (no programming). I learned far more in those 2 months than i did in the year of tech classes. I have a long way to go, i know, but at least i have that experience.

As an engineer, i have experience using multiple cad packages and making drawings (including GD&T). Solidworks, Pro/E, Creo, & NX. Which software should i acquaint myself with? Mastercam? Gibbscam?

I think ultimately i would like to have my own shop, which would be equipped with a cnc mill and lathe, along with all the other common machine shop tools (wouldnt that be nice!) - and a fabrication side as well. I have more experience in the steel fabrication world than i do with machining, but i enjoy both. I would love to be a machine programmer for one of those radical 5 axis machines that i have seen videos of on youtube. It is just so cool how you can take a huge chunk of useless aluminum and turn it into something like an engine block!