What's new
What's new

Considering relocating

Lane_A

Plastic
Hello all,

Here's my situation:
I've been a cnc machinist for 5 years, and I currently work for an aerospace manufacturer outside of Sacramento earning $21/hr.(about 52k per year with overtime).

While I'm definitely not complaining about my wages, but the housing market here is too competitive to buy a home(starter homes are around 250k) and rents are getting steeper every year(around 1200-1300 for a 2br).

I have relatives in the Charleston SC area, and I'm dumbfounded when I look at all the 3br/2ba homes with huge backyards selling for the 100-120k range. These homes would easily run 300-400k in my area.

Yet when I tell my co-workers I'm considering leaving ca for SC they all scoff and say "yeah but you'll probably get paid 12/hr."

I couldn't get a good sense from online job ads what the pay scale is.... Are wages for our trade really that low in the south eastern part of the US?

Thanks!

Hello all,

Here's my situation:
I've been a cnc machinist for 5 years, and I currently work for an aerospace manufacturer outside of Sacramento earning $21/hr.(about 52k per year with overtime).

While I'm definitely not complaining about my wages, but the housing market here is too competitive to buy a home(starter homes are around 250k) and rents are getting steeper every year(around 1200-1300 for a 2br).

I have relatives in the Charleston SC area, and I'm dumbfounded when I look at all the 3br/2ba homes with huge backyards selling for the 100-120k range. These homes would easily run 300-400k in my area.

Yet when I tell my co-workers I'm considering leaving ca for SC they all scoff and say "yeah but you'll probably get paid 12/hr."

I couldn't get a good sense from online job ads what the pay scale is.... Are wages for our trade really that low in the south eastern part of the US?

Thanks!