What's new
What's new

Resume critique: No experience in a shop. Just graduated school.

aniiran

Plastic
I'm honestly confused what a resume for no one with experience should look like. I have a real issue. I have been an aircraft mechanic for 11 years and decided when I left the Air Force CNC machining looked like a cool gig. I was given a position while I was in school that paid well that was not a machining position. Now that school is ending that opportunity is going away and I will lose my income. I began sending resumes out about a month ago but have gotten no calls. Not even from head hunters or people offering jobs that are entry level and low wage operator positions. I think the formatting is fine, but I think the body info is off putting. I had my resume looked over by a non-machinist and said it was fine, but I think I need to have it looked at by machinists.

Another issue is: I earned another degree because the idea was that I wanted to be able to fix CNC machines or get in on the ground floor of 3D Printing so I took a course called Mechatronics where I learned about and got hands on experience with PLCs, hydraulic circuits, pneumatic circuits, 3 phase AC motors with VFD's, Industrial Wiring, Programing Fanuc Servo robots, SMC pick and place robots, Electronics labs, servo motors, ball screws and lead screws... the list goes on. I am however unsure if any of that is useful to CNC machining.

What I have been doing is tailoring my response to ads. What I am finding is many companies want a bunch of soft skills. So I keep putting in soft skills. This is the most general one I keep putting out.

John K. Doe
116 SE 1st Ave. – Oregon City, Oregon 97XXX
(5XX) XXX-XXXX
[email protected]

EDUCATION

• Machining Technology A.A.S., College, Oregon (Completion 12/12/15)

SKILLS/QUALIFICATIONS