What's new
What's new

starting apprenticeship have questions???

sam_stlouis

Cast Iron
Not sure if this is the best section but seemed to be the one to post is.

OK, so first I dont have it for sure. But I work at general motors, and our facility has opened up a small group on apprenticship positions. They are offering die makers, and tool makers. Our faciality only has a few die makers positions, so it will increase my chances to pick tool maker. There are 580 applying for the positions, 10 spots. They are going to do some testing to get it down to 100 applicants, then interviews after that. I expect to do well on the testing, after that who knows. I have some machining experience, home machinist type stuff, but no real machinist training.

Anyway any feedback on what I can expect to get out of this, if things change down the road will this give me the type of experience other employers would want to see, any advice would be greatfull. It is a 4 year program, we will recieve a tool maker journeyman certificate from the US department of labor. 7328 hours on the job training, and 576 hours of schooling, classes are from a community college and ranken tech. We will rotate working with different journeyman and different shifts to get different kinds of work and different points of view.

I am hoping to become as much of a toolmaker and machinist as I can out of this, just not sure how far it will go in terms of training. I will push to get as much as I can, or even take extra classes if I need to. Just hope this will be a good deal. Next step is in a week, hope to be one step further.

Anyway any feedback on the program or similar programs is appreciated.
thanks
sam

study

Not sure if this is the best section but seemed to be the one to post is.