What's new
What's new

Cincinnati Hydrashift lathe easy question (hopefully)

Hello,

I am new to machining so this is likely a VERY stupid new guy question, however, I would like to know and UNDERSTAND the answer.

I am NEW to machining.

I have recently acquired a 10x60 Hydrashift, 3hp

I am trying to find all the metal I can to learn to turn. I am not trying to make huge cuts nor am I trying to set speed records. I am very happy at low to very medium speeds with very low feeds. I have leveled the lathe to take twist out down to about .0005 at the spindle-from a 12" piece of stock.

My question is, based on those cuts to level and subsequently working on a few pieces of practice stock, I am wondering about crossfeed travel or depth of cut. For instance, If I dial in .005 or 5 thousands of an inch I am getting that amount of diametrical cut on the workpiece. I seem to be seeing videos by the youtube stars that their feed does double the dialed cut; i.e. .005 or 5 thousands on the dial equals a .010 or ten thousands cut. While I like to learn from others for starters, I want to understand MY machine. I believe I have seen reference to two types of crossfeed adjustments, but my manual does not reference many specifics.

So, is there an actual difference and is one better than the other or just different and a need to know your machine?

Put a dial indicator on the carriage and contact it to the toolpost exactly parallel to the cross slide. Zero the cross slide dial, zero the indicator and move it any given distance. If it moves the same am0unt as the corss slide dial, the dial is direct reading and the diameter will be reduced by double the amount put in on the cross feed dial. If the indicator reads half the amount of the crossfeed dial it is diametral and you take the reduction in diameter as expressed on the dial. My personal opinion is that a machine with diametral dials is automatically twice as accurate as one without.

Mike C,